2017 Short Works Prize recipients announced

November 7, 2017

Short Works Prize for writing


Short Works Prize for writing for writing.

Congrats to the 2017 Award Recipients!

Published NON-FICTION:
The Alvin A. Lee Award for
Creative Non-Fiction

Marilyn Gear Pilling: Her Majesty

Honourable Mentions:
Brent van Staalduinen: You’ll See the Sky
Sally Cooper: Chase and Catch

Published POETRY
The Bryan Prince Bookseller Award for Poetry
Cara Evans:

Honourable Mentions:
Marilyn Gear Pilling: Eufrasio Told Me
Ellen S. Jaffe:
Colours Of Spirit, States Of Mind

Published FICTION:
The Hamilton Public Library Freda Waldon Award for Fiction
Jen Jones:

Honourable Mentions:
Kelly Watt: The Dogs Of San Miguel
Elisha Stam: Or Swim

UnpublishedOFF-THE-RADAR – Poetry

The Mohawk College Awards for Poetry
Anna Borstad Klassen:
Tamara Brstina:
The Haunted House

Honourable Mention:
Meagan Shropshall:

Unpublished – OFF-THE-RADAR –
Creative Non-Fiction:

The Redeemer University College Award
for Creative Non-Fiction
Peter Karuna: 80 Kilburn Square

Honourable Mentions:
Paula Grove:
My mother had a ritual
Purnima Rao-Melacini:


Unpublished – OFF-THE-RADAR – Fiction:

The Redeemer University College Award
for Fiction
Nicole Ankenmann:
Wool and Wax

Honourable Mentions:
Ashley Huff:
Someone To Sit With
Darrell Doxtdator:
A Little Truth

Unpublished – YOUTH

The Rotary Club of Hamilton AM
Young Writers Awards:
Mae Ashley Alfonso Toribio – Fiction: Together
Casey Monkelbaan
– Poetry: Atrocities of Yesterday and Today 
Kendra Zhang
– Poetry: Numbers 
Hannah Rosales
– Poetry: in the strangest places

Honourable Mentions:
Jade Zhang – Poetry: Untitled 
Reema Balousha
– Poetry: A Child in War
Jaime Delaney
– Poetry: writer’s block
Ayooluwa (Nifemi) Bola
– Fiction: The Immunes
Sawyer Berkelaar
– Fiction: Pirate’s Life
Herleen Devgan
– Fiction: Unit 71
Doa Elganga
– Fiction: All Gone


This category was open to Memoir Writing Workshop participants.
Virginia Ashberry: Christmas Eve 1980
Rita Bailey:
Criminals and Other Riffraff 
Simone Rotstein:
My Hair, My Daughter, and Me


November 12, 2017

Click HERE to

Email: HAL@HALmagazine.com

Many thanks to everyone who participated in SWP 2017! And thank you to the jurors for all of their hard work: Amanda Leduc, John Terpstra, Jennifer Tan, Denyse Terry, and Jeff Griffiths.

Sincere Thanks to our SWP Sponsors and Community Partners!

Rotary Club of Hamilton AM, McMaster University, the City of Hamilton, Redeemer University College, Mohawk College, Bryan Prince Bookseller, Hamilton Arts & Letters magazine, and the Hamilton Public Library. The Gillett Reminiscence Prizes.

And thanks to HA&L magazine’s Community Partner, The Hamilton Spectator: TheSpec.com.

SWP Sponsors

Canada 150 Hamilton

Follow SWP on Twitter: @shortworkprize >>>

The Short Works Prize for writing is open to Hamilton Area Authors. Presented in Partnership by Bryan Prince Bookseller, Hamilton Arts & Letters magazine, and the Hamilton Public Library.

The Hamilton Public Library, Bryan Prince Bookseller, and Hamilton Arts & Letters magazine present the Short Works Prize for Writing.